雲門官方網站

FORMOSA Lin Hwai-min 2017 Creation World premiere season kicks off on November 24

2017-11-08

Formosa: the Beautiful. In the 16th century, the Portuguese sailors when approaching the coast of a verdant island, with admiration exclaimed: "Formosa!” -- “beautiful!” -- anointing the island that later would come to be known as the former name of Taiwan.

Inspired by the abstract beauty born from land and lore, Lin Hwai-min's new creation FORMOSA for Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Taiwan uses gesture, script and song to create a lustrous universe -- a playground of love and life, mediated by tragedy, hope, and rebirth -- against stunning visual backdrop projected with interlocked and overlapped Chinese characters. Devoid of specific meanings, they merge in teeming thickets to evoke a host of imagery: mountains and rivers, earthquakes and tsunamis, ancient inscriptions, a black sun. They seem to imply writing as a precarious vehicle for memories, which blur and recombine at the whim of history's wind.

Ahead of Paris, London, and Moscow; be the first to see the world premiere of FORMOSA in Taiwan.

**Ticketing: +886(0)2-2629-8558 or E-mail: service@cloudgate.org.tw

TAIPEI
National Theater
Fri-Sat November 24-25 @19:45
Tue-Sat November 28-December 2@19:45
Sun November 26
Sat-Sun December 2-3@14:45
  *Post-performance talk by choreographer Lin Hwai-min on November 28 and 30

 

TAICHUNG
National Taichung Theater Grand Theater
Fri December 8 @19:30
Sat December 9 @14:30

 

KAOHSIUNG
Kaohsiung City Cultural Center Chih-Teh Hall
Sat December 16 @19:30
Sun December 17 @14:30

 

CHIAYI
Chiayi Performing Arts Center
Fri-Sat December 22-23 @19:30
Sun December 24 @14:30
  *Post-performance talk by choreographer Lin Hwai-min on December 24
訂閱電子報
訂閱 >
取消 >
˄
top